Look for the helpers….

15 Apr

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.'” ―Fred Rogers

You may have seen this quote shared in the aftermath of the Boston tragedy yesterday. Personally, it is one of my favorite quotes from Mr. Rogers. I’m very thankful for the helpers, the first responders, the civilians, the runners, who helped their fellow man. There is still a lot of help needed, but it is inspiring to hear reports of the people who have gone out of their way to assist.

The quote goes on to say, “To this day, especially in times of ‘disaster,’ I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.”

We must remember that even in times of such tragedy, there are many, many people who care. We must care. We must help out. We must go beyond.

My thoughts and prayers go out to those in Boston during this tragic time….

If you have family and/or friends at the Boston Marathon – you can check their status here: 
http://raceday.baa.org/individual.html

I have seen reports online that cell phone service is jammed, however, runners are able to check social networks. Get in touch with your family and friends via Facebook or Twitter.

CBS News has LIVE coverage from Boston here:
http://www.cbsnews.com/2718-201_162-1950/cbs-news-live-video/

One Response to “Look for the helpers….”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photo of the Day: Look For The Helpers - April 16, 2013

    […] Look for the helpers…. […]

Post Your Comment

