It’s Me and You, Boy

12 Mar

I had a reflective moment during this morning’s commute to school. As usual Robert and I were listening to one of my Disney CDs, when “You’ve Got a Friend in Me” from Toy Story came on. We started singing along and I asked Robert if he remembered singing it when he was little on the way to preschool. He told me he didn’t and as I reminisced about my big boy during his preschool years he asked me to put the song on repeat. We continued to sing along as the song played again and again, and I thought about him growing up just as Andy did since the first Toy Story.

andy_woody_home_video

When Toy Story was released in 1995 I was 14-years-old. I remember buying the soundtrack after falling in love with the music. I listened to “You’ve Got a Friend in Me” on repeat myself, thinking of the friendship Andy had with his beloved toys. Now almost twenty years later, the lyrics have a deeper meaning for me, especially after having three children.

If you’ve got troubles, I’ve got ’em too
There isn’t anything I wouldn’t do for you
We stick together and can see it through
Cause you’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me

Some other folks might be
A little bit smarter than I am
Big and stronger too, maybe
But none of them will ever love you
The way I do, it’s me and you, boy

As parents we would do anything for our children. Listening to the lyrics now and thinking about Andy’s relationship with Woody makes me realize that Woody was like a father figure to Andy. He was always there for him and Andy was able to make Sheriff Woody the hero in his life. That is a lot to live up to as a parent, but I will do my best to be my children’s hero.

There isn’t anything Mommy or I wouldn’t do for you, Robert. And the same goes for William, Elisabeth, and your new sister once she joins us in a few months. No one will ever love any of you the way your Mommy and I do.

Love,
Daddy

4 Responses to “It’s Me and You, Boy”

  1. Andrea (Lil-Kid-Things) March 14, 2014 at 1:01 PM #

    Such a wonderful letter to your son. Totally got me all teary eyed. I blame Toy Story πŸ™‚

    • MagicalDaddy March 14, 2014 at 11:49 PM #

      Thank you, Andrea. πŸ™‚ I blame Toy Story as well. πŸ˜‰

  2. Ashley Holland March 14, 2014 at 11:19 PM #

    I love this!

    • MagicalDaddy March 14, 2014 at 11:50 PM #

      Thanks, Ashley! πŸ˜€ Robert and I had a couple of nice moments this week during our ride to school.

Post Your Comment

